Superbowl Sunday – Holy Yum!

Fact: Superbowl Sunday is the 2nd largest food consumption day.

No way am I surprised! With all of the wings, ribs, pizza, chips and dip, veggies and dip, oh and did I say wings? How could one be surprised?

I’ve been trying to think of a game plan myself. Me and my husband have a Superbowl party to attend. And I definitely don’t want to fall off the wagon (including after all of the fondue I ate last weekend!).

So here are a couple of recipes I am taking to my Superbowl party tonight šŸ™‚ I have already tried both of them and give them 2 thumbs up! (Also, they are 80 day obsession approved ya’ll!)

1. Peanut Butter Chocolate Balls

image1 (1)

Who doesn’t love a good Peanut Butter Ball (some may call them buckeyes)?! If you love all things peanut butter, chocolate, and simplicity – then this is right up your ally.

Ingredients:

  • 1 Cup Smooth Peanut Butter
  • 1 TBSP Cornstarch
  • 3/4 Cup Coconut Flour
  • 2 TBSP Pure Maple Syrup
  • 8oz Semi Sweet Chocolate Chips
  • 2 TSP (and some)Ā  Coconut Oil

Directions:

  1. Prepare a baking sheet with parchment paper.
  2. Combine peanut butter, cornstarch, coconut flour, and maple syrup in a medium bowl (I used a hand mixer). This will form a dough.
  3. Shape dough into 24 1-inch balls and place on a baking sheet. Refrigerate made balls for 20 minutes (at least!).
  4. Fill a small saucepan with 2 inches of water. Bring to a boil. Reduce heat to low. Place a heat-proof mixing bowl over the saucepan. Add chocolate chips and oil to the bowl. Stir just until melted. You may need to add more coconut oil to thin out the chocolate!
  5. Remove balls from refrigerator. Dip each into chocolate (enough to cover). Return to baking sheet. Repeat with each ball.
  6. Refrigerate for at least 1 hour or until the chocolate has hardened.
  7. Eat up!

I’ve made these 2 times. The first time I stuck a toothpick in each one before refrigerating them so I could easily dip each one in the chocolate. They all wanted to fall off the toothpick. Waste of time! The 2nd time I used a skewer to just dip each one. That worked out so well!

Also, I decided this time to sprinkle some crushed peanuts and sea salt on top of each ball. The sea salt gives it a nice touch. šŸ™‚

2. Loaded Sweet Potato Skins

image1

If you like sweet potatoes AND potato skins…this is for you!

Ingredients:

  • 3 Medium Sweet Potatoes
  • 2 Slices of Bacon
  • 5 oz of Chicken, Chopped.
  • 1/2 TSP Sea Salt
  • 1 TBSP Taco Seasoning
  • 3 Cups of Spinach
  • 6 TBSP Shredded Cheddar
  • 6 TSP Sour Cream

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees.
  2. Place sweet potatoes on a baking sheet. Bake for 50 minutes to 1 hour (until tender). Let them cool.
  3. Cook bacon in a large skillet until crisp. Once cooled, crumble bacon.
  4. Add chicken to the same skillet. Season with salt and taco seasoning. Cook over medium heat stirring frequently for 4 to 5 minutes (or until fully cooked).
  5. Add spinach. Cook stirring frequently for 2 to 3 minutes. Set aside.
  6. Slice cooled sweet potatoes in half lengthwise. Scoop out most of flesh with a spoon leaving about 1/4 inch attached to skin.
  7. Place sweet potatoes halves skin side up on a baking sheet. lightly coat with spray. Bake for 15 minutes or until skins are brown and crisp.
  8. Fill each sweet potato half with 1/4 cup of chicken mixture. Top evenly with cheese and bacon. Bake for 5 minutes or until cheese is melted.
  9. Garnish sweet potatoes with sour cream. šŸ™‚

So unfortunately, with it being Superbowl Sunday…I’m behind on meal prep. šŸ˜¦ It’s been a busy weekend – working a craft show, running errands, going to see my Elementary school’s unicycle club perform a half time show, etc. So, I’m going to be pulling recipes from my past meal plans to use this week. I’ll send a new one out next week for everyone!

Happy Superbowl Sunday!

Go Patriots!! šŸ™‚

XOXO Britt

 

Leave a comment